top of page
shutterstock_229820137 compressed.jpg
Blue Bubble 03.png
British Curriculum
British Curriculum: Image

Recognized and respected around the world.

British education has achieved a worldwide reputation for quality, and is recognised and respected around the world.


One of the huge benefits is how transferable it is – students can move seamlessly back to the UK or to other countries.


​British education is renowned for concerning itself with the development of the whole personality including the body with sports and physical activities. Learning is important but in itself not enough. Young people need to develop their potential to explore and discover the world around them, to think for themselves, relate to others and form opinions.


​The National Curriculum of England (commonly referred to as the “British Curriculum”) is structured to meet the needs of all students, stretching brighter children but also supporting those who need differentiated teaching and learning activities. The curriculum extends all students, whatever their interests or ability. Through it, teachers are able to identify, celebrate and nurture the talents of students.


​In the British Curriculum, students learn by questioning, and creative thinking, as well as being taught the knowledge and facts of a particular subject or topic.

shutterstock_1138310537 compressed.jpg
Red Bubble.png
Nursery & Reception
Nursery & Reception
Green Bird.png
Purple Bird.png

Welcome to Nursery & Reception

In Nursery and Reception (3 - 5 years of age) our children are welcomed into a stimulating and creative environment where they have opportunities to experience a wide range of activities and to learn through play. Aside from developing communication, language and mathematical skills, the curriculum places emphasis on developing personal and social skills and becoming independent and determined learners.


We meet the National Curriculum requirements for learning and development by making sure we cover all the seven areas of learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and seek to help children to reach their Early Learning Goals through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult led and child-initiated learning. The seven areas of learning include:


These areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

1)  Communication and Language (CL)             

Children will learn to speak and express themselves, and to listen and respond in a range of situations, in a language rich environment.

2) Physical Development (PD)

Children will develop their physical control and co-ordination, as well as an awareness of space. They will develop an understanding of the importance of physical activity and will be encouraged to make healthy choices.


3) Personal, Social, and Emotional Development (PSED)

Children will learn how to work, play and co-operate with others. They will be encouraged to develop a positive sense of themselves and understand and manage their feelings. They will develop independence and a confidence in their own abilities. ​



These areas include essential skills and knowledge, which support and strengthen the prime areas.


1) Literacy (L)

Children will use synthetic phonics to read and write familiar words and sentences and learn to form letters. They will talk with confidence about stories and their characters, using their imagination to predict what comes next.


​2) Mathematics (M)

Practical activities will help children develop their mathematical understanding and numeracy skills. They will develop their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, solving simple problems and will learn to describe shapes, spaces, and measures. They will learn to understand simple mathematical vocabulary.


3) Understanding the world (UTW)

Children will learn about the features of the environment around them, as well as beginning to develop an understanding of people, cultures, places and technology in the wider world. ​


4) Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Children will explore colours and shapes, use different materials, create models, experiment with music and dance, tell stories and gain confidence in self-expression.


​At SPCC Christian School, we will also refer to the Characteristics of Effective Learning (also found in Development Matters). These underpin children’s learning and development across the foundation stage and are grouped under the following 3 main headings:


1) Playing and exploring (engagement)

Children investigate and experience things in their learning environment.


2) Active learning (motivation)

Children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements.


3) Creating and thinking critically (thinking)

Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

Owl 02.png
BlueGreen Bubble 02.png
Biblical World View
Biblical World View
Church Icon.png

We are a Christian School

At SPCC Christian School the Bible is to be used as a reference point for our methods and our teaching.


The Christian faith will not be imposed upon the students, but rather they will be presented with a Christian perspective appropriate for their age and dependent on subject matter.


In our pastoral care for students, our aim is to create an environment in which students are valued, respected and equipped to understand educational principles as stated in the National Curriculum and have the freedom to thinkabout all matters concerning God.  Our goal will be to give an expression of care to every child and to help themrealize that they are unique.

bottom of page