top of page
Red Bubble.png
Nursery & Reception
British Curriculum: Image
Green Bird.png
Purple Bird.png

Welcome to Nursery & Reception

In Nursery and Reception (3 - 5 years of age) our children are welcomed into a stimulating and creative environment where they have opportunities to experience a wide range of activities and to learn through play. Aside from developing communication, language and mathematical skills, the curriculum places emphasis on developing personal and social skills and becoming independent and determined learners.


We meet the National Curriculum requirements for learning and development by making sure we cover all the seven areas of learning for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and seek to help children to reach their Early Learning Goals through planned, purposeful play with a balance of adult led and child-initiated learning. The seven areas of learning include:



These areas are crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

1)  Communication and Language (CL)             

Children will learn to speak and express themselves, and to listen and respond in a range of situations, in a language rich environment.

2) Physical Development (PD)

Children will develop their physical control and co-ordination, as well as an awareness of space. They will develop an understanding of the importance of physical activity and will be encouraged to make healthy choices.


3) Personal, Social, and Emotional Development (PSED)

Children will learn how to work, play and co-operate with others. They will be encouraged to develop a positive sense of themselves and understand and manage their feelings. They will develop independence and a confidence in their own abilities. ​



These areas include essential skills and knowledge, which support and strengthen the prime areas.


1) Literacy (L)

Children will use synthetic phonics to read and write familiar words and sentences and learn to form letters. They will talk with confidence about stories and their characters, using their imagination to predict what comes next.


​2) Mathematics (M)

Practical activities will help children develop their mathematical understanding and numeracy skills. They will develop their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, solving simple problems and will learn to describe shapes, spaces, and measures. They will learn to understand simple mathematical vocabulary.


3) Understanding the world (UTW)

Children will learn about the features of the environment around them, as well as beginning to develop an understanding of people, cultures, places and technology in the wider world. ​


4) Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

Children will explore colours and shapes, use different materials, create models, experiment with music and dance, tell stories and gain confidence in self-expression.


​At SPCC Christian School, we will also refer to the Characteristics of Effective Learning (also found in Development Matters). These underpin children’s learning and development across the foundation stage and are grouped under the following 3 main headings:


1) Playing and exploring (engagement)

Children investigate and experience things in their learning environment.


2) Active learning (motivation)

Children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements.


3) Creating and thinking critically (thinking)

Children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

Owl 02.png
bottom of page